VBA code to find heading and copy data

Todd_H

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
Hello,
I am a VBA noob and I was hoping that someone could assist with a code for what I am trying to do. These threads have helped me a lot since beginning my macro journey.

I have data that provides employee service history, this can vary in length from employee to employee. The data is about half way down the report and has a heading in column A "current service" and below the heading in columns A, B, C, D and E is the data I want to copy to another sheet where a table is. Below the current service data is a new heading, also in column A, so I want the code to stop reading and copying data when the new heading is found.

Any help you would be able to give would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
Hi Todd_H,

Welcome to MrExcel!!

Change any code line in the following that I've commented with "<-" to suit your needs and then see how this goes:

VBA Code:
Option Explicit
Sub Macro1()

Dim wsFrom As Worksheet, wsTo As Worksheet
    Dim rngFrom As Range, rngTo As Range
    Dim lngPasteRow As Long

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

Set wsFrom = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1") '<-Sheet name containing data to be copied. Change to suit if necessary.
    Set wsTo = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet2") '<-Sheet name where the data from 'wsFrom' will be paste to. Change to suit if necessary.
    Set rngFrom = wsFrom.Cells.Find(What:="current service", LookIn:=xlValues, LookAt:=xlWhole, SearchOrder:=xlByRows, SearchDirection:=xlNext, MatchCase:=False, SearchFormat:=False).Offset(1, 0)