VBA code to input a set value into a cell if another equals a defined value

paulralph86

Hi there!

My apologies if this is lesson 1 VBA however, I am a complete beginner at this.

I have the following code that works, however, I am required to click somewhere in the worksheet for it to complete the run.
The first section works fine, as soon as I click the F8 cell the F9:F20 field resets to empty. It is the second action that requires me to to click anywhere in the worksheet to complete it.
Is there a way to make it run from start to finish automatically?
He is the macro I have....

Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Address = Range("F8").Address Then
Range("F9:F20").Value = ""
End If
If Range("F14").Value = "No Surface Treatment/Coating" Then
Range("F16,F18,F20").Value = "No Surface Treatment/Coating"

End If
End Sub

I appreciate any help/advice you can give me.
Many Thanks,
Paul

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Welcome to the Board!

Event procedures are VBA code that run automatically upon some event happening. You have chosen "Worksheet_SelectionChange", which runs automatically upon some pre-determined cells being selected/activated.
There is also "Worksheet_Change", which runs automatically upon some cell being manually updated, and "Worksheet_Calculate", which runs whenever a recalculation is done. And there are others (but these are some of the most common ones, as it pertains to Worksheets - there are Workbook events which run on opening, saving, etc).

So, the first thing you need to do is to determine exactly what "event" should happen that triggers your code to run?
If you let us know what that is, we should be able to help you make it work the way you want.

Upvote 0
Hi Joe,

Thank you very much for the kind welcome.