VBA Newbie

C Nelson

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi everyone, I am new to this side of excel. I have no real knowledge of the coding required to use this side of excel but I know its powerful and can do what I'm after, I just need some help if at all possible. I am working on a spreadsheet for work as an electronic shift log and I am looking to add a command button to basically save and publish the active sheet as a pdf to SharePoint and email to a group defined in a group of cells in the workbook on a second sheet without saving any changes to the original workbook. I would like to be able to pull from multiple cells for the file name. If there is anyone that could help or at least point me in the right direction of where to look for the information, it would be much appreciated. I have played with bits and pieces of what I am trying to do but could never get anything to work right so I got frustrated and scrapped it all.

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Hi,

The best advice I can give is to break these steps down into manageable pieces. Personally I would get your template spreadsheet sorted first so you know all the locations in the spreadsheet your code is going to read from. I would leave the command button coding to last however, in the meantime work out if you want a button on the tool bar OR a user based form button that you can place on the cells of spreadsheet. You can save a spreadsheet to PDF and just point it to a location on SharePoint if you have OneDrive sync etc (Google the code). The email option should be doable as well and there is heaps of code on online for that also look into Mailmerge as I think that might be your answer. Google is your best friend. Do your best to cobble up some code, post it and im sure there will be plenty of people to assist you bring it together and fine tune it.