VBA - Search, formulas based on other cells depending on search & msgbox

vbagreenhorn

Hello,

I'm pretty new at using VBA.
I would like a button on a UserForm to open up an InputBox that requests a value. The code then needs to look up the value in a particular sheet. Based on that found value (which is always in Column A) I will need a MsgBox to pop up that will display some of the cell contents in the same row but in other columns so for arguments sake Column D, Z and AA as well as displaying some other values in the MsgBox using formulas.

So my main questions are:

How do I search for a value in VBA
How can I display relative cell contents in the MsgBox
Is it possible (and if so how) to use the relative cell contents to do some calculations (such as countif, normal numerical functions such as division by 3 etc) and also display these in MsgBox?

Thank you!

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
So this is a fairly involved process. Not difficult, but requires a few steps. First you'll need to design your Userform; everything starts from there. So once you've opened VBA Explorer, you'll locate the workbook you wish to have the UserForm in via the Project Window then Insert your Userform. This will insert a completely blank form that is then up to you to Customize using the Toolbox. This will bring us to your 1st question; searching for a value using VBA. From the Toolbox you can insert a button on to the form. Once you have your first button on the form you can then start attaching code to that button an label it (I labeled is Search). So for example, you may have something like this:

Code:
Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
Dim SearchString As Variant
SearchString = Application.InputBox("Find Value", "Find")
    If SearchString = False Then
        MsgBox ("You Have Pressed Cancel or Not Inserted a Value")
        Exit Sub
    End If
End Sub