VBA to repeatedly search for the next occurrance of a value in a fixed cell

Rich Seidner

Hi--I'm a Total Newbie, and have spent literally days trying and failing to do this very very very simple thing.

A user of my sheet can type a value into a fixed cell location (let's say into cell H9), and I want to create a FindNext macro to find the next occurrence of whatever that value is in a column (let's say column B). I know I need to set a static variable to keep the address of the most recent cell that was found across repeated use of the FindNext macro, so as to start the next find operation after that ... but I have failed miserably.

Hoping someone can help me! And, yes, I intend to learn VBA properly.

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
Hello Rich,

Welcome to the boards :) Can you please post the code you have been working on? It maybe a simple fix, plus it would allow us to see what you are doing and give advice for next time.

Upvote 0
Hello Rich,

Welcome to the boards :) Can you please post the code you have been working on? It maybe a simple fix, plus it would allow us to see what you are doing and give advice for next time.

Well, this is a little ratty, because I've been trying various approaches, but I just got it working. YAY!

Thanks for your fabulous quick reply, and any comments on this are welcome.

PS: I now have one more question, but I will post that separately.

Code:
Sub searchLastName()
    Static foundtxt As String
    FTW = Worksheets("Contacts").Cells(9, "H").Value
    Start = "B20"
    foundtxt = Worksheets("Contacts").Cells(20, "A").Value
'    MsgBox FTW & foundtxt
    Dim rngFound As Range

Set rngFound = Sheets("Contacts").Columns(2).Find(What:=FTW, LookIn:=xlFormulas)

If Not rngFound Is Nothing Then
  'you found the value - do whatever
'  MsgBox FTW & foundtxt