VBA update links

chriscsmith

Afternoon all!

I've searched various forums including this one and ozgrid and can't seem to find a solution '1004 error'.

1. I have a master file hosted on Sharepoint - no one opens or uses this file other than me; and I only use it for monitoring.
  2. This master file has vlookup links (essentially cell references) to 104 other excel workbooks hosted on Sharepoint.
  3. Users access their workbooks make updates, save and close.
  4. The master file captures all updates that have been made through all 104 workbooks, compiles an analysis based on an organizational heiarchy, recognizes the input from the highest level of management and places it into 3 seperate fields.
  5. Now, the when any other users throughout the company access their workbook via sharepoint, the field fields that are recognized (through the highest level of mgmt) get pulled from the master and placed in their workbook through a vlookup.
With all that said, everything works wonderfully and quite seamless except for 1 issue. I have to access the master file to 'update links' and save the file. Otherwise, the 104 workbooks will only pull those 3 input fields based on whenever the last update link/save was done. If the file needs to be open to generate the vb, then I can surely leave it open in the background. I do enjoy sleep, so if anyone has ideas or has done something similar previously I would greatly appreciate it.

Here is what I have thus far (advanced apologies if the embedded code table doesn't appear, I couldn't locate the toggle for that):

Dim mdteScheduledTime As Date
Sub RefreshData()
ThisWorkbook.UpdateLink Name:="http://spintranet.mitchell.com/calibration/workbook1.xlsm", Type:=xlExcelLinks
ThisWorkbook.UpdateLink Name:="http://spintranet.mitchell.com/calibration/workbook2.xlsm", Type:=xlExcelLinks
ThisWorkbook.UpdateLink Name:="http://spintranet.mitchell.com/calibration/workbook3.xlsm", Type:=xlExcelLinks