Very Basic VBA help needed urgently!

munshi1111

Hello all,

When it comes to VBA in excel, I will be the first to admit that I am a noob. I have come across a problem where I need help, urgently. So here is the situation:

I have three tabs (Orders, Logs, Completed) which contain data.
"Logs" has 7 columns (A-G)
Column G in "Logs" is doing a vlookup to find all the "y" values in "Orders" tab to show which orders a completed.

I need to find a code to cut and paste the rows of all "y" values I get in the "Logs" tab into the "Completed" tab. This is where I'm having an issue because I am getting these "y" values based on a vlookup.

After the row is moved, I need that empty row in "Logs" tab deleted. Any help??

I know this may come off as confusing, so let me know if I can make it easier to understand.

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Hi Munshi1111,

May not be what you're after but I've had similar issues when trying to collate data based on a particular column, to extract it into a different worksheet.

Basically, if you can insert a new column H (it will be hidden when we finish) and place a formula in column H

=ROW()

When you hide Column H, users will not see that it's there. But now you have a unique identifier to retrieve when you perform your VLOOKUP.

i.e. =VLOOKUP("y",$G$1:$H$999,2,FALSE) will give you the Excel Row number containing that record.

I'll have a look through some of my other projects, I may have some VBA that does something similar as well.

Upvote 0
Possibly...

Code:
Sub Filterit()
    With Sheets("Logs").Range("A1:G" & Sheets("Logs").Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row)
        .AutoFilter Field:=7, Criteria1:="y"

On Error Resume Next

With .Offset(1).Resize(.Rows.Count - 1).SpecialCells(xlCellTypeVisible)
            .Copy Sheets("Completed").Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Offset(1)