Vlookup functionality error in Power Pivot

soshaughnessy

Hello All,

I am new to Power Pivot and I am exploring whether it would be possible to migrate some of my data analytic tools into this platform,however I am running into what may be a deal killer. Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

I have several worksheets that I previously would use a vlookup to bring in certain fields based upon the unique identifier, Record Number. The many to many doesn't apply here as it simply returns the first value it finds based on the identifier. As these are financial data sets there are always a many to many relationship but the unique identifier allows me to compare. I've setup a simple example that hopefully someone can help with.

I have two tables: PCO Report and Previous Report. I am trying to return the previous status of each record based off its record number into the PCO Report Table from the Previous Report Table. To do this I setup another table that only has the unique values with duplicates removed and built the relationships, to Record Number.

I have tried using Related and Related Table and neither will work. I continue to get the error "The column 'Previous Report[Status] either doesn't exist or doesn't have a relationship to any table available in the current context."

I am blocked from filesharing so apologies for no screenshot below is essentially what the tables look like

PCO Report Table
Project NameRecord NumberStatusPCO NumberCostPrevious Status
Test 11Approved1F50Error
Test 11Approved1F25Error

<tbody>
</tbody>

Record Number Table

Record Number

<tbody>
</tbody>

Previous Report Table

Project NameRecord NumberStatusPCO NumberCost
Test 11Submitted1F50
Test 11Submitted1F25

<tbody>
</tbody>