VLOOKUP vs INDEX-MATCH ? Issues?

rmoran4446

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
9
I am attempting to get a formula that will pull the "Policy Record Number" into the "Related Policy Record Number" Field Upon "Policy #'s Matching.

Now the "working table" is going to have duplicate values, which seems to be where my issues are coming in. Right now I can get the first record to pull correctly, but then as I copy down, it duplicates that value....I am very lost.

Here is what I have so far:

Screen%20Shot%202016-02-25%20at%2011.09.49%20AM.png
 

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.

taxman1985

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
5
I am attempting to get a formula that will pull the "Policy Record Number" into the "Related Policy Record Number" Field Upon "Policy #'s Matching.

Now the "working table" is going to have duplicate values, which seems to be where my issues are coming in. Right now I can get the first record to pull correctly, but then as I copy down, it duplicates that value....I am very lost.

Here is what I have so far:

Screen%20Shot%202016-02-25%20at%2011.09.49%20AM.png


Looks like you have you "$" in the wrong place on your cell references. You are locking the row, not the column. Switch them to before the Column reference and you should be good. Change that first formula to =index($G4:$G21,MATCH($C4,$F4:$F21,0)) then copy.
 

taxman1985

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
5
Looks like you have you "$" in the wrong place on your cell references. You are locking the row, not the column. Switch them to before the Column reference and you should be good. Change that first formula to =index($G4:$G21,MATCH($C4,$F4:$F21,0)) then copy.

Sorry, I messed up. It should read this =index($G4:$G21,MATCH($C4,$F$4:$F$21,0)) since you don't want the match table to change as you copy down.
 

rmoran4446

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
9

ADVERTISEMENT

Tried that, does the same thing. Only copies down 2053
 

rmoran4446

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
9
No idea why, but it returns N/A Values until I save, and then it actually inputs the data. THANK YOU!!
 

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
14,460
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
Is your calculation set to manual instead of automatic?
 
Master Excel Bundle

Excel contains over 450 functions, with more added every year. That’s a huge number, so where should you start? Right here with this bundle.

Forum statistics

Threads
1,164,155
Messages
5,835,697
Members
430,379
Latest member
QCLAN

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top