vlookup with employees with the same shift

jordiejones

So I have been working on a sales floor planner that pulls a ton of info onto one sheet that would be printed out every day. Part of this sheet is the schedule for the day. I have a dummy workbook showing how I am pulling data but I have a vlookup problem where if more than one person is working the same shift, it only looks up the first record it finds. Its kind of a big staff and on a rare occasion 11 people could theoretically come in at the same time.

I'm Excel self taught and if there is a better more efficient way to get to the same result, by all means!!!!

What I want:

Column A Column B
Mark 10-6
Angie 10-3
Bill 12-8
Larry 12-8
Lenny 12-5
Micky 3-8

What Im getting:

Column A Column B
Mark 10-6
Angie 10-3
Bill 12-8
Bill 12-8
Lenny 12-5
Micky 3-8

here is a RapidShare link to the file
Example of Pull from Schedule

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.
So I have been working on a sales floor planner that pulls a ton of info onto one sheet that would be printed out every day. Part of this sheet is the schedule for the day. I have a dummy workbook showing how I am pulling data but I have a vlookup problem where if more than one person is working the same shift, it only looks up the first record it finds. Its kind of a big staff and on a rare occasion 11 people could theoretically come in at the same time.

I'm Excel self taught and if there is a better more efficient way to get to the same result, by all means!!!!

What I want:

Column A Column B
Mark 10-6
Angie 10-3
Bill 12-8
Larry 12-8
Lenny 12-5
Micky 3-8

What Im getting:

Column A Column B
Mark 10-6
Angie 10-3
Bill 12-8
Bill 12-8
Lenny 12-5
Micky 3-8

here is a RapidShare link to the file
Example of Pull from Schedule
I have your file in front of me.

Where is the data that you need to extract? Is from the schedule sheet?

Upvote 0