VLOOKUP

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.

nick m

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2002
Messages
14
Hiya,

it says this when you are putting a formula into the same cell ie if(b2>0,b2,0) you will have to put the formula elsewhere onthe spread sheet if you need help, can you tell what you are trying to do ?
 

Mark O'Brien

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
3,530
Post your VLOOKUP formula. It sounds like you're telling Excel to lookup a value in a range, but are using one of the values in the range as the search criteria.
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
On 2002-10-03 15:10, watercolor wrote:
Excel keeps saying "circular reference." I don't understand why!!! pls help.

Care to post the VLOOKUP formula that you are trying to use.
 

imported_unknown

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
424

ADVERTISEMENT

On 2002-10-03 15:14, Mark O'Brien wrote:
Post your VLOOKUP formula. It sounds like you're telling Excel to lookup a value in a range, but are using one of the values in the range as the search criteria.
 

imported_unknown

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
424
On 2002-10-03 15:14, Mark O'Brien wrote:
Post your VLOOKUP formula. It sounds like you're telling Excel to lookup a value in a range, but are using one of the values in the range as the search criteria.



used the VLookup function: a3, sheet2!a3:h13, false ]
 

imported_unknown

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
424

ADVERTISEMENT

On 2002-10-03 15:14, Aladin Akyurek wrote:
On 2002-10-03 15:10, watercolor wrote:
Excel keeps saying "circular reference." I don't understand why!!! pls help.

Care to post the VLOOKUP formula that you are trying to use.
[used VLOOKUP function: a3, sheet2!a3:h13, 6, false. i really don't understand the use of this function - new to Excel - was a homework assignment]
 

imported_unknown

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
424
On 2002-10-03 15:14, Aladin Akyurek wrote:
On 2002-10-03 15:10, watercolor wrote:
Excel keeps saying "circular reference." I don't understand why!!! pls help.

Care to post the VLOOKUP formula that you are trying to use.
[used VLOOKUP function: a3, sheet2!a3:h13, 6, false. new to Excel]
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
On 2002-10-03 15:50, watercolor wrote:
On 2002-10-03 15:14, Aladin Akyurek wrote:
On 2002-10-03 15:10, watercolor wrote:
Excel keeps saying "circular reference." I don't understand why!!! pls help.

Care to post the VLOOKUP formula that you are trying to use.
[used VLOOKUP function: a3, sheet2!a3:h13, 6, false. i really don't understand the use of this function - new to Excel - was a homework assignment]

Homework assignment... Hmmm.

Did you enter in A3 in Sheet2 something like:

=VLOOKUP(A3,Sheet2!A3:H13,6,FALSE) ?

What do you have in A3 and in Sheet2!A3:H13?
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,144,362
Messages
5,723,909
Members
422,527
Latest member
JayTheKaz

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top