batch Geocode
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: batch Geocode

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default batch Geocode

    Hi all,

    im attempting to use the website
    https://www.doogal.co.uk/BatchGeocoding.php

    to take a list of postcodes in column A and either take the results straight from the website and paste into B and C.

    Or download the csv File and import into the correct columns.

    Sub geoCode()
    Dim IE As Object
    Dim doc As HTMLDocument
    Dim objTag As Object
    Lastrow = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
    Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    IE.Visible = True
    URL = "https://www.doogal.co.uk/BatchGeocoding.php"
    IE.navigate URL
    Do While IE.Busy
    Application.Wait DateAdd("s", 1, Now)
    Loop
    Set doc = IE.document
    doc.getElementById("tabs").Click
    For RowNo = 2 To Lastrow
    doc.getElementById("postcodes").Value = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("sheet1").Range("A" & RowNo)
    Next
    End Sub





    This is as far as i can get before i run in to issues.

    I cant seem to figure out how to control the rest of the website.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by Martynrbell; Jul 9th, 2019 at 07:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator mole999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9,819
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: batch Geocode

    doogal has limits of the amount of data it will process for you
    • Yes I know there are better ways to do it. I just wish I knew them. - 97, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 & 2019
    • I wear my ignorance openly, excel is not my chosen career, its a means to an ends
    • Posting Guidelines Want to post well laid out questions and answers Translate Excel Versions
      Code:
      [CODE ]Put Your Code[/ CODE]
    • Settings > General Settings (on the left) scroll to the bottom, > Miscellaneous Options > Use ENHANCED
    • X-Posting Guidelines Rule 13 > CHART STUFF

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: batch Geocode

    Im only planning on doing approx 150 or so a day for approximately 30 days.
    Would be nice to see how its done.

    I managed to get https://www.latlong.net working, but there is also a daily quota for that but a lot smaller.

    I did read in the comments on doogal that there isnt a quota as such, the users just get throttled when breached.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: batch Geocode

    Id use the google API but I dont want to pay

  5. #5
    Moderator mole999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9,819
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: batch Geocode

    i would have thought ordnance survey would have the best data being that a postcode is a big beast
    • Yes I know there are better ways to do it. I just wish I knew them. - 97, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 & 2019
    • I wear my ignorance openly, excel is not my chosen career, its a means to an ends
    • Posting Guidelines Want to post well laid out questions and answers Translate Excel Versions
      Code:
      [CODE ]Put Your Code[/ CODE]
    • Settings > General Settings (on the left) scroll to the bottom, > Miscellaneous Options > Use ENHANCED
    • X-Posting Guidelines Rule 13 > CHART STUFF

  6. #6
    Board Regular kweaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    La Jolla, CA
    Posts
    456
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: batch Geocode

    Here's a list but it won't fit into Excel because of the row limit in Excel.
    If you really need this large list, you might have to put it into Access or another array processing language that can handle that size array.

    https://www.freemaptools.com/downloa...de-lat-lng.htm

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •