Still need help with this one: Template Wizard Macro Recordi - Page 2
VBA Telemetry pings you when your VBA projects fail
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Still need help with this one: Template Wizard Macro Recordi

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

     
    Still figuring more out..ok, here's the deal:
    The add-in controlling the database updates, etc. is WZTEMPLT.XLZ (apparently also known as 3424.xls).
    So, for you Excel Wizards out there, from there I need a macro that:
    1) opens the menu that gives you the option to UPDATE the database OR just continuing without updating. AND
    2) selecting the option of UPDATING the database.

    If we can figure those two steps out and write a macro for those based on WZTEMPLT.xla - I can do the rest using the recorder. Who ever can figure this out should win one of those Mr. Excel t-shirts or whatever....this is tough stuff.


  2. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    .

  3. #13
    MrExcel MVP Ivan F Moala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The wizard template isn't exposed until you
    set a reference to it in you application.

    I couldn't find and Doc on it (doesn't mean there isn't any?)...so I would suggest creating a reference to the Template in your project and seeing if it exposes any methods
    that you can use. After you create the
    reference, look in the object browser (F2 and select the reference)to see what methods
    are exposed.

    You will have to experiment with what you see

    Good luck

    Kind Regards,
    Ivan F Moala From the City of Sails

  4. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm having the same problem as JeremyinCanada trying to create a button which will update a database using the Template Wizard. I wish I could email the participants to find out how they *solved* this.

    I am a novice at macros and I don't understand how to set a reference to the template in my worksheet to explore Ivan's suggestion below:

    The wizard template (WZTEMPLT.XLZ,
    apparently also known as 3424.xls)
    isn't exposed until you set a reference
    to it in your application.

    I couldn't find and Doc on it (doesn't
    mean there isn't any?)...so I would
    suggest creating a reference to the
    Template in your project and seeing if
    it exposes any methods that you can
    use. After you create the reference,
    look in the object browser (F2 and
    select the reference)to see what
    methods are exposed.

    Thanks for the help,
    Brad Isbister
    brad.isbister@verizon.net
    Fort Wayne, IN

  5. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I found a solution by just writing a macro to update the database in the next blank row.

    Unlike the add-in, this macro only adds new records and is not capable of appending or editing old records. If you wanted to do that, you could create a similar "edit" macro which used a match routine to find the desired row which I call NextRow.

    I attached this code to a button on my form and it works great. The code is located on another thread, http://www.mrexcel.com/board/viewtop...0382&forum=2&4

    Thanks to everyone for their help,
    and Good Luck

  6. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi - don't know if you've solved this yet but I had the same problem and got round it with this:

    Dim AdminPrinter As String
    Dim OldPrinter As String
    Const File_DB = "COMMON"
    Const File_ATW = "WZTEMPLT"
    Set CurrWorkbook = ActiveWorkbook
    CurrWorkbook.Activate
    OldPrinter = Application.ActivePrinter
    AdminPrinter = "\londonHP4600N-Admin-1 " & GetNode
    Application.Run File_ATW & ".XLA!Commit"
    SaveLocation = ""

    Hope that helps.

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

      
    I had the same issue and got it to work with this code: hope it helps:

    Dim AdminPrinter As String
    Dim OldPrinter As String
    Const File_DB = "COMMON"
    Const File_ATW = "WZTEMPLT"
    Set CurrWorkbook = ActiveWorkbook
    CurrWorkbook.Activate
    OldPrinter = Application.ActivePrinter
    AdminPrinter = "\londonHP4600N-Admin-1 " & GetNode
    Application.Run File_ATW & ".XLA!Commit"
    SaveLocation = "G:"

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com