Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Solved Thanks All ! -- Analysing Data

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    >Why don't you make 'country' a PAGE field?

    Then I won't be able to select more than one country ...

    [ This Message was edited by: Girish on 2002-05-08 14:31 ]

  2. #12
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Perhaps I misunderstood your question. When you say "filter on country=USA" do you mean exclude from the PivotTable? Do you have a finite set of countries and are they all represented in your data set?

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-05-08 14:36 ]

  3. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-08 14:35, Mark W. wrote:
    Perhaps I misunderstood your question. When you say "filter on country=USA" do you mean exclude from the PivotTable? Do you have a finite set of countries and are they all represented in your data set?
    "filter on country=USA" means only show records for USA. I have 10 countries to select from(I can check the countries to see other details in pivot table).
    In short what I want is Country similar to be a page field, but I can select multiple countries & I don't get details of each country seperately (i.e. only total for selected countries)

  4. #14
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "filter on country=USA" means only show records for USA. I have 10 countries to select from(I can check the countries to see other details in pivot table).
    In short what I want is Country similar to be a page field, but I can select multiple countries & I don't get details of each country seperately (i.e. only total for selected countries)
    Now you have me more confused. Are we discussing PivotTables or how to AutoFilter a list?

    If we're discussing PivotTables consider this data set...

    {"Country","Region","Value"
    ;"USA","East",10
    ;"USA","West",15
    ;"France","South",20
    ;"France","North",25
    ;"Germany","East",30
    ;"Germany","West",35}

    ...and a PivotTable with 'Country' and 'Region' in the ROW area and 'Sum of Value' in the DATA area.

    Did you know that you can double-click on "France" to toggle between Hide and Show Detail?

    [ This Message was edited by: Mark W. on 2002-05-08 15:03 ]

  5. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In the data you provided forget France for a moment.
    Now when I check the boxes for Germany & USA (in country drop-down), Excel should display me the total(USA+Germany) sales for east region & west region. I don't want countrywise region sales (seems weird right ?). But this is exactly what I want.

    Thanks a lot Mark for your help.

    Girish

  6. #16
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-08 15:18, Girish wrote:
    In the data you provided forget France for a moment.
    Now when I check the boxes for Germany & USA (in country drop-down), Excel should display me the total(USA+Germany) sales for east region & west region. I don't want countrywise region sales (seems weird right ?). But this is exactly what I want.

    Thanks a lot Mark for your help.

    Girish
    Ahh, this is known as Grouping...

    1. Select USA and Germany items
    2. Right-click and choose Group and Outline | Group... from the popup menu.
    3. Click on the "Group1" label and overwrite it with "Germany & USA" or whatever makes you happy.
    4. Drag the original 'Country' field button out of the PivotTable.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •