Which Formula to use in Excel 2013 for Calculating yes/no into %

Droiyan3

Dear MRExcel Forum!
Thanks for having me here! i am an Technical Support Engineer and to be honest i find using excel in my day to day job as super valuable - its the best :)

I have constructed a questionnaire( 17 questions ) for my peers to answer for which the response can be either Yes,NO, or NA in ( C13:C34) . I used a data validation to allow them select only one of those 3 choices .

For column C35 i would like it to the following logic: Sum up all the Yes and substract all the NO's and then show me in percentage the result. If there is N/A then dont use it for calculation.

I am a super beginner in formulas and was thinking of using something like sumif but i am not sure even after watching the training how to make it use that.

I would be grateful if anyone would have some tips ? :)

thanks a lot
Droiyan3:LOL:

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
so an example would be : if out of 17 questions , 1 is NA, 14 are yes and 2 are no then we should find out how much is 14 questions in % out of 16 ? in this case it would be 87.5

thank you

Upvote 0
Try:
Code:
=COUNTIF(C13:C34,"Yes")/(COUNTIF(C13:C34,"Yes")+COUNTIF(C13:C34,"No"))

Upvote 0
I interpret the OP request "Sum up all the Yes and substract all the NO's and then show me in percentage the result."

to be (number of Yes - number of No) / (total Yes + total No)

the formula =(COUNTIF(C13:C34, "Yes")-COUNTIF(C13:C34, "No")) / (COUNTIF(C13:C34, "Yes")+COUNTIF(C13:C34, "No"))

will do that

Upvote 0
I'm not sure Mike. OP states what you say in Post 1, but in Post 2 OP states answer should be 87.5%???
Anyway, one of our formulas should work for him.

Upvote 0
Try:
Code:
=COUNTIF(C13:C34,"Yes")/(COUNTIF(C13:C34,"Yes")+COUNTIF(C13:C34,"No"))