Adding Blank Cell Logic to Existing Formula

meppwc

Active Member
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
422
The formula below that is in W247 works correctly. You will notice if the lookup finds a value (the secondary VLOOKUP logis), that the formula returns the value in column 9.
But if the value for column 9 is blank, then I want blank returned.
Currently Excel is populating the value of "1/0/00"
I am struggling with fitting an ISBLANK condition into this formula.
Can someone please assist?


=IF(D247<>"",D247,IF(ISERROR(VLOOKUP(O247,'G-Block CMO-FMO and IP Ranges '!$A$61:$I$400,7,FALSE)),"",VLOOKUP(O247,'G-Block CMO-FMO and IP Ranges '!$A$61:$I$400,9,FALSE)))
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)

Aryatect

Active Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
308
Hi, this is returning value 0 for you and it is in date format m/d/yy.

If you want to change that then without going into too much modification this should work:

Code:
=IF(D247<>"",D247,IF(ISERROR(VLOOKUP(O247,'G-Block CMO-FMO and IP Ranges'!$A$61:$I$400,7,FALSE)),"",IF(VLOOKUP(O247,'G-Block CMO-FMO and IP Ranges'!$A$61:$I$400,9,FALSE)=0,"",VLOOKUP(O247,'G-Block CMO-FMO and IP Ranges'!$A$61:$I$400,9,FALSE))))
 
Last edited:

DanteAmor

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
12,216
Office Version
2007
Platform
Windows
The formula below that is in W247 works correctly. You will notice if the lookup finds a value (the secondary VLOOKUP logis), that the formula returns the value in column 9.
But if the value for column 9 is blank, then I want blank returned.
Currently Excel is populating the value of "1/0/00"
I am struggling with fitting an ISBLANK condition into this formula.
Can someone please assist?

Apparently you have a date format in the cell.
Change the format of the cell to:

dd/mm/aaaa;;"";@

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...stand-settings-in-the-format-cells-dialog-box
 

DanteAmor

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
12,216
Office Version
2007
Platform
Windows
it is correct must be yyyy then

dd/mm/yyyy;;"";@
 

meppwc

Active Member
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
422
Thank you all for the assistance.........DanteAmor.........dd/mm/aaaa;;"";@ worked perfectly. It really "cleaned" things up.
 

DanteAmor

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
12,216
Office Version
2007
Platform
Windows
Thank you all for the assistance.........DanteAmor.........dd/mm/aaaa;;"";@ worked perfectly. It really "cleaned" things up.
I'm glad to help you. Thanks for the feedback.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,764
Messages
5,488,715
Members
407,654
Latest member
IDAL

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Timer in VBA - Stop, Start, Pause and Reset
    [CODE=vba][/CODE] Option Explicit Dim CmdStop As Boolean Dim Paused As Boolean Dim Start Dim TimerValue As Date Dim pausedTime As Date Sub...
  • how to updates multiple rows in muliselect listbox
    Hello everyone. I need help with below code. code is only chaning 1st row in mulitiselect list box. i know issue with code...
  • Delete Row from Table
    I am trying to delete a row from a table using VBA using a named range to find what I need to delete. My Range is finding the right cell. In the...
  • Assigning to a variable
    I have a for each block where I want to assign the value in column 5 of the found row to the variable Serv. [CODE=vba] For Each ws In...
  • Way to verify information
    Hi All, I don't know what to call this formula, and therefore can't search. I have a spreadsheet with information I want to reference...
  • Active Cell Address – Inactive Sheet
    How to use VBA to get the cell address of the active cell in an inactive worksheet and then place that cell address in a location on the current...
Top