All possible combinations in 7 rows

mtordin

I have 7 rows, each row has the options "Low", "Medium", and "High". I need to combine all 7 rows so for example one possible combination would be "LLLLLLL", then "LLLLLLM", then "LLLLLLH", then "LLLLLML" and so on and so forth. The order does matter because each row represents something different. How could I create a formula to make this work? I have found a formula which combines everything in two rows but I am not an excel expert and I dont know how to expand it to 7 rows. The formula is:

=IF(ROW()-ROW($D$1)+1>COUNTA($A$1:$A$4)*COUNTA($B$1:$B$3),"",INDEX($A$1:$A$4,INT((ROW()-ROW($D$1))/COUNTA($B$1:$B$3)+1))&INDEX($B$1:$B$3,MOD(ROW()-ROW($D$1),COUNTA($B$1:$B$3))+1))

I dont know if this will help but I hope it does. Any help is appreciated thank you!

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
Welcome to the forum.

Put this formula in row 1 of some column, then drag down.

=SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(BASE(ROW()-1,3,7),"0","L"),"1","M"),"2","H")

Upvote 0
BASE was added to Excel in 2013, so evidently your version is before that. You can try this more complicated version instead:

=SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(RIGHT("000000"&MMULT(MOD(INT((ROW()-1)/{1,3,9,27,81,243,729}),3),{1;10;100;1000;10000;100000;1000000}),7),"0","L"),"1","M"),"2","H")

Upvote 0
Another way:

A​
B​
C​
D​
E​
F​
G​
H​
2​
LLLLLLLA2: =MID("LMH", MOD(INT(3 * (ROWS(A$2:$G2) - 1) / 3 ^ COLUMNS(A$2:$G2)), 3) + 1, 1)
3​
LLLLLLM
4​
LLLLLLH
5​
LLLLLML
6​
LLLLLMM
7​
LLLLLMH
8​
LLLLLHL
9​
LLLLLHM
10​
LLLLLHH
11​
LLLLMLL

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Another way:

A​
B​
C​
D​
E​
F​
G​
H​
2​
LLLLLLLA2: =MID("LMH", MOD(INT(3 * (ROWS(A$2:$G2) - 1) / 3 ^ COLUMNS(A$2:$G2)), 3) + 1, 1)
3​
LLLLLLM
4​
LLLLLLH
5​
LLLLLML
6​
LLLLLMM
7​
LLLLLMH
8​
LLLLLHL
9​
LLLLLHM
10​
LLLLLHH
11​
LLLLMLL

<tbody>
</tbody>

I plugged in exactly what you have and nothing happened