Automatically display text on empty cells

scarletX

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there, I'm relatively new to VBA in Excel and I stumbled across this forum in hopes that my problems can be solved.

It might be an easy task for VBA experts, so I just wanna ask as the thread title stated;

How do I automatically display text in a range of cells (multiple columns) when the cell(s) are empty, and even after I entered value inside and then deleted it, the cell will automatically display the same text that I set for the rest of the cells?

I tried the If Then function, but it only works on one cell and does not automatically display when I typed a value and deleted it.

I tried Googling but the codes that were given were something I don't understand, which I can't work it out in the end. I need help and I would also appreciate if someone explain to me on their solution in layman terms as I am trying to learn VBA along the way as well.

Thanks in advance

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Welcome to the Board!

Can you walk us through an actul example? Please include specific range references.

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data that will allow us to copy/paste it to our Excel spreadsheets, so we can work with the same copy of data that you are. Instructions on using this tool can be found here: XL2BB Add-in

Note that there is also a "Test Here” forum on this board. This is a place where you can test using this tool (or any other posting techniques that you want to test) before trying to use those tools in your actual posts.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

Can you walk us through an actul example? Please include specific range references.