Barcode Scanning - Data from one spreadsheet to another

Allysa

Hello everyone! I'm new here, but this looks like an EXCELLENT source of information. Thanks in advance for all the help.

I searched and searched, but I have a somewhat unique issue - and I'm an Excel NEWB.

Here's my situation:

I have a .xlsb file that is full of items (literally tens of thousands. This document has UPC numbers, retail amounts, etc... as well as around 8 other columns.

I have a large (physical) inventory that I just purchased from an burned down Target. Target provided me with the .xlsb file when I purchased the stock.

What I would like to do is use USB barcode scanners to locate the rows in my original .xlsb file, and store them into a separate .xlsb file. I want it to be streamlined so I don't have to physically cut and paste each one, because it would take ages.

I have searched locally for people to help me with this (even offering consulting fees), but no one seems to know. If anyone can solve this, I would be most grateful; and even offer a monetary reward/compensation. I'm on a deadline, and I'm stressing out about it!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this.

Allysa Cordon :)

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Hi,
the thing to understand about bar code scanners is they basically work the same way as keyboards.
They 'type' in what they see, then process the return code. This is exactly the same as typing in the human readable part of the barcode and hitting enter. You can see shop assistants doing this every day when the barcode has been spoiled.