Building a complex form

bkelly

This is a learning vehicle and I am an Access beginner. My book does not go into this depth. An issues database contains the following tables:

Tbl_Issues: The issues that have been created

Tbl_Join_Issues_To_People: A many to many join. One issue will have an opener, assigned to, sometimes a second or more assigned to if the issue is passed around, a closed by, an optional consulted with, and possibly other relationships. It contains a foreign key to Tbl_Issue_People_Relatsionships specifying the type of relationship.

Tbl_People: The people that can be involved with an issue.

Tbl_Issues_People_Relationships: Specifies the relationship between the issue and the person. New reasons may be found so I use a table rather than a hard coded list.

I am using form wizard to build a form that uses the issues as the primary source and the people as a secondary source. The join table should be transparent to the user. The relationship table will be a drop down list so the user can select the type of relationship.

When I create the form with the wizard I get the fields from the issues. That’s good. The join table comes up as the sub form, and I don’t see the people table or the relationships table.

Can this task be written down as a procedure to follow? Or is this too wild and wooly for that?

I can post the database here, or put it on my web site, but that would probably be a bit much. I have written a lot of Excel VBA, but never any Access. If VBA is needed I can go there.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Access 2010 if that helps any.

Maybe if I post my steps someone will tell me what to do different.
1. Create -> Form Wizard
2. Open Tables/Queries drop down, select tbl_Issues
3. Select >> and move all to Selected Fields
4. Open drop down and select tbl_Join_Issues_To_People
5. Select >> and move all to Selected Fields