Calculate a trendline forecast

torkattack

Hello,
This is my first post. I found an article on Microsoft Office Online from MrExcel about calculating a forecast for Sales based on historical data. I tried this LINEST formula by selecting two cells side by side and entering the =linest(c2:c35) etc. This formula does not seem to work for me and I'm wondering if it is becasue I'm using Excel 2003. Does anyonw know of a formula to forescast Sales in Excel 2003. I have never done this kind of formula before, so please try to make your explanations simple for me. Thanks in advance. Lori

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Welcome to the board.

LINEST works fine in 2003. It comes up with a straight line of best fit (using least squares) for your existing data. The equation for such a line is y=mx+b, and LINEST returns the values of m and b (gradient and intercept).

This sort of line can be used to forecast sales, but it's only really useful if you have a pronounced trend that you expect to continue. If you need to factor in things like seasonality, it becomes less useful.

What is it that you are actually trying to do?

Upvote 0
Thanks Emma,
I have three years of historical data by month for Retail Sales. I would like to predict the last quarter sales for this year based on historical data.
I did a spreadsheet with Col. A being the Month number such as 1,2,3.. and Column B being the date such as Jan-08, Feb-08... and Column C being the actual Sales number such as $10,000, $12,000 etc. I've never used this formula before so I really don't know any of the steps to perform the action to get results. I guess what I really need is to be shown how to do this, is that possible? Thanks Lori

Upvote 0