Change Dynamic Web Query Parameter/ Web Query Automation

melizhang

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to excel programming, so I apologize for any awkwardness in wording my problem.

Recently I'm trying to make a database of Bank Identification Number (BIN) from binlist.net using Web Query. It basically works like this : for example I want all the information for the bank identification number of 515874, so what would I do is use a web query using http://binlist.net/xml/[bank identification number] as data source, in this case it would be this : http://www.binlist.net/xml/515874.

Using a normal web query would land me to this :
515874515874MASTERCARDIDIndonesiaPT BANK MEGA TBK.CREDITPLATINUM-5120270.67us

<tbody>
</tbody>

all in separate cells, which is what I wanted. I want this type of query automated for the next 100k+ data - The automation that I would like to have is something like in this video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9N60AIZQNE (sadly the video maker doesn't explain anything on how to achieve that result).

Since I have numerous data and I can't create a macro using a static web query for this type of automation, I tried using dynamic web query parameter (http://www.binlist.net/xml/"BIN", then in connection properties I change the parameter to 'Get parameter from the following cell' and select the cell containing the bank identification number). However, upon using the dynamic query parameter, it lands me different result than above, into this :
515735 /Response
/Bank/Bin/Bin/#agg/Brand/CardCategory/CardType/CountryCode/CountryName/Latitude/Latitude/#agg/Longitude
CITIBANK, N.A.515735515735MASTERCARDWORLD CARDCREDITUSUnited States3838-97
515735/Response
/Bank/Bin/Bin/#agg/Brand/CardCategory/CardType/CountryCode/CountryName/Latitude/Latitude/#agg/Longitude
CITIBANK, N.A.515735515735MASTERCARDWORLD CARDCREDITUSUnited States3838-97

<colgroup><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>