Convert old excel macro to selenium

zios007

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to VBA and since IE has ended it's lifecycle support our company will remove it from our OS soon for security reasons. I've had a working macro to copy data from an excel file to our website that contained some sort of form field structure.
I'm trying to convert the below set of instructions to work with selenium. But I've not been able to do it since I do not know how to work with WebDriver, WebElements nor VBA.

Few notes:
To be able to use the FindElementById I've had to use the switchtoframe -> cd.SwitchToFrame ("ptifrmtgtframe") because otherwise it wouldn't find the IDs.
I will need to clear the input box before entering data, otherwise it will copy it next to the text that was already on the box, something like this ->
'Clear the input box to enter new text
cd.FindElementById("BUSINESS_UNIT$" & i - 2).Clear

The steps of my code will need to change slightly from the previous code because the IE code didn't need to open a new browser instance.

- Open new instance of Chrome (even thought that I would prefer if we navigate to the exact site on the website and the code can run from there, but seems that I need to run a new chrome instance with selenium each time I want to use this macro).
- Because we need to open a new instance, we need first to login to the site each time the macro is used. So before proceeding, I'm checking if the tab name is "Create/Update Journal Entries". If it matches, that will mean that the user logged in.
If better way doing the check than using a GoTo... in case the tab name doesn't match. Please change it :) I didn't know how to do the loop and the GoTo worked (I know it is not good practice, but I'm not an expert sorry).
- Switch to proper iFrame to be able to find find elements by ID, otherwise it doesn't find anything.
- I guess some variables will need to be setup.
- Then the For Each loop