Copy data to another workbook based on search results

Debzzz

Hi

I'm new here, I'm Debbie and hoping to get some help with a holiday and sickness planner I have been creating.

I am looking for a way to copy data from one worksheet to another in a different workbook (I'm using Excel 2010).

I have identical column headers in two worksheets, columns D through to Column I have data in. If the data in columns D to I matches the Data in Columns D to I on the other worksheet I want it to copy columns J to L into the other workbook. the data could be on different rows in each workbook, would anyone know of a way to do this please?

I tried putting a code into column B to use as the search region, but then I'd have to write code for each line and there are a lot, however the code I tried to write didn't work anyway (I'm fairly new to VBA).

Code:
    Sub FindandPaste()

Dim codename As String
    Dim Finalrow  As Integer
    Dim i As Integer

Workbooks.Open ("C:\Users\Margaret\Desktop\newest")

codename = Workbooks("Master").Worksheets("Holiday Requests").Range("B6").Value
   Finalrow = Workbooks("Newest").Worksheets("Holiday Requests").Range("D1000").End(xlUp).Row

For i = 2 To Finalrow

If Cells(i, 1) = codename Then

Cells("codename").Offset(6).Copy
             Cells(i, 10).PasteSpecial xlPasteFormulasAndNumberFormats
             End If

Next i

End Sub

Thanks in advance for any help with this

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Hi Debs - welcome to the forum

abcdef
defghI
ghIabc
do you count these two tables identical ?

<colgroup><col width="64" span="9" style="width:48pt"> </colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

Upvote 0
Hi and thank you

The headers are identical

Name Department Date Requested Date From Date To Additional Information Accepted/Declined Date Accepted by