Deprecated features and functions?

EdNerd

I am struggling with a group of workbooks based on a macro-laden templated originally created in XL2003 and Windows 2000, and updated / patched over the years. We are now using Office 365. And the Windows and server environments have likewise changed. Some of these files are now crashing Excel - but only certain files for certain users. I suspect it's a combination of old files in a new framework, security patches applied unevenly across our machines, and old formulas and VBA code that may not work the way they used to.

As "keeper of the flame" (that is, the only one here who has fought through the formulas and VBA to make these work), I have been tasked with rebuilding this template (formulas and code) so it works with the modern versions of Excel, Windows, and servers. I'm not a professional programmer, nor even a good computer nerd - I'm just the guy who did this the first time, so now it's mine to do.

I can't understand, much less do anything with, the Windows or server environments, and the same goes for the IT security stuff. (It was a really special day when we discovered they had blocked our macros from running when we opened a file stored on a server.) Is there a list somewhere of deprecated formula and VBA features and functions? At least I can search my workbooks for these and update what I can.

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result
With very few exceptions (such as FileSearch) deprecated features generally still work.

Upvote 0
Note that many times where errors occur on different computers/systems and VBA is involved, it is often due to missing VBA References/Libraries on those specific computers.
The way to locate that is to go to a computer where it DOES work, and go into the VBA Editor, and go the Tools menu and select References, and you will see something like this:

1702996275035.png