Dynamic Cell Editing from Another Sheet

mariah3

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
I'm brand new to VBA and Macros, having had the luxury of relying on statistical programming languages like R and Python up until now. Due to some restrictions at my workplace that won't allow me to use R Shiny or Python Flask for the task at hand, I am looking to make what is effectively a data review tool in excel. I'll add that access to MS Forms and Power Apps is coming down the pipeline but not in time. I'm pursuing other options using PDF and such for my immediate need but am hopeful this can work in excel.

For the sake of an easy-to-relay problem set (posted below as mini sheets), let's say I have a hidden 'sheet1' as my back-end data with an ID (col A, numeric), Value1 (col B, string), and Comments (col C, string); and 'sheet2' as my front-end for the reviewers I'm working with, which contains a drop-down to select an ID from sheet1 to display the associated Value1 and let a reviewer type in their comment. Their comment would then fill the corresponding row of sheet1!Comments. Now for the tricky part: my reviewers want the ability to save and then come back to edit their comments. This would require some method to "read in" a value from sheet1!Comments when the dropdown is selected in sheet2, allow the reviewer to edit that comment in sheet2, and then overwrite the sheet1!Comments cell to update their comment.