Excel 2010 and Powerpivot, get external data from a data feed

renigar

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
8
To start I'm new to powerpivot and don't know enough about what it can or can't do. So please let me know if I'm on the wrong path here. The scenario: I have a workbook where I need to update one sheet in the workbook with customer data everytime I open it (I've named the sheet Data_Feed). I have installed the Powerpivot addin for Excel 2010 and it seems to work fine. I have been able to get the data I want into Powerpivot with either a url to an rdl file or an atomsvc file (both ways work). I've read numerous web pages but have not found an answer to my question. I want to have powerpivot update the data on the Data_Feed sheet in my workbook when I open the workbook. What I'm having trouble with is how do I link the worksheet Data_Feed to the Powerpivot table and have the Data_Feed worksheet updated. I feel like I'm close but missing some key bit of information.
Thanks, renigar
 

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".

renigar

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
8
I may have looked at that already but I'm not sure or I didn't know what to do. I'll be back at work next week and have another look. Thanks.
 

sandy666

Banned - Rules violations
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
7,499
Example

dmrefresh.jpg


it works for me, I don't remember how it works for 2010 with PP add-in
 
Last edited:

renigar

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
8

ADVERTISEMENT

Sandy666,
I've already had the properties set as in your example. I still don't see how I get the data from the powerpivot table to copy to the excel worksheet automatically. Do fields have to be mapped from one to the other? If so, how?
 

sandy666

Banned - Rules violations
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
7,499
if you have Pivot Table created so each time you open file it will refresh data from the source with new data if it was changed, if not it doesn't make sense to refresh.
 

renigar

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
8
I had moved the data to a pivot table, and the data in powerpivot would update but not the pivot table. Thanks for your time on this but I've given up on this approach for now. Just going to export data from SSRS reporting service into excel file. I've written a macro to do the rest of the data manipulation. I like to make it work but have spent to much time on it.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,130,172
Messages
5,640,584
Members
417,152
Latest member
DayTimeSeby

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top