Excel formula doesn't work when recorded as macro - syntax error

Welldonedav

hi,

i have a formula that works in excel but when i come to record it as a macro it no longer works and si ignored but doesn't diurupt any other part of the macro. Recording below

Range("O3").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = _
"=IF(OR(RC[-9]=""TY"",RC[-9]=""1M"",RC[-9]=""2M"",RC[-9]=""3M"",RC[-9]=""5M""),CONCATENATE(TRIM(RC[-7])/10,TRIM(RC[-8])),CONCATENATE(TRIM(RC[-7]),TRIM(RC[-8])))"

When i finish recording it shows a syntax error but shows the correct result in the square on excel.

When the macro is run the result is always the IF false outcome even if the IF is TRUE.

I would greatly appreciate anyones help/advice on this as i'm pretty new to vba

thanks

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
What do you have in H3, F3 and G3?

By the way, your formula could be condensed to:
=TRIM(H3)/IF(OR(F3={"TY","1M","3M","5M"}),10,1)&TRIM(G3)

Upvote 0
in H3,F3 and G3 there are product codes and expiry details which I am trying to concatenate.

thanks for the condensed formula, where would I input that it to the code? it doesn't seem to work if I just substitute it for what i already have. apoloiges if these are v.basic questions

Upvote 0
in H3,F3 and G3 there are product codes and expiry details which I am trying to concatenate.

thanks for the condensed formula, where would I input that it to the code? it doesn't seem to work if I just substitute it for what i already have. apoloiges if these are v.basic questions

What values are in the 3 cells the formula refers to?
The formula I posted was the Excel version of your VBA formula. The VBA version would be (note that you don't need to select a cell to write a formula to it):

Code:
Range("O3").FormulaR1C1 = "=TRIM(RC[-7])/IF(OR(RC[-9]={""TY"",""1M"",""3M"",""5M""}),10,1)&TRIM(RC[-8])"

Upvote 0