Excel Macro to expand acronyms

jaaimee

Hi everyone,

I am working on a project that requires me to expand the acronym in column A of excel and copy the expanded term to column B. The acronyms i am working on mainly revolves around the engineering mechanical side. An example would be:

Column A Column B
AHU-L8-01 Air Handling Unit
AHU-L9-01 Air Handling Unit
AHU-L10-01 Air Handling Unit

FCU-L8-01 Fan Coil Unit
FCU-L9-01 Fan Coil Unit
FCU-L10-01 Fan Coil Unit

It revolves alot of repetitive work therefore i hope to find a macro that can cut down the time taken on this.
I really hope there is someone who is able to provide some direction as to where should i start as i am a beginner in VBA.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Jaime :)

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
I went to read up on vlookup. But it is not giving me the results that i prefer. It would work if i have 2 columns of data to begin with. However, in the project I am working on, I am only given column A (acronyms) and I need to input the expansion of the acronyms into column B manually. Vlookup seems to be like a function for searching and returning the value you are looking for.

Upvote 0
If you setup a lookup table with the acronym & phrase you can use vlookup like

Excel 2013/2016
ABCLMN
1AcronymPhraseAcronymPhrase
2AHU-L8-01Air Handling UnitAHUAir Handling Unit
3AHU-L9-01Air Handling UnitFCUFan Coil Unit
4AHU-L10-01Air Handling Unit
5FCU-L8-01Fan Coil Unit
New
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
B2=VLOOKUP(LEFT(A2,3),M$1:N$3,2,0)

Upvote 0
I'd modify Fluff's formula just a bit - since presumably some acronyms will vary from the 3 characters you now show - to:

=VLOOKUP( LEFT( A6, FIND( "-", A6) - 1), $E$2:$F$100, 2, FALSE)