Extracting data from one list and sorting it into another

frankshank

Hi All,

I am having a problem with the extraction of data from one list to another. The problem that keeps coming up is that I have a master list for some data that I am attempting to take a number of smaller lists to add onto it. The problem is that the smaller lists do not have the full identifiers that the master list does. I need help with the sorting and matching the attributable information to the respective identifier.

For example, I have the master list below:

Neighborhood | All Cars (count)
1001 | 4
1002 | 15
1003 | 12
1004 | 2
1005 | 7
1006 | 22

Then I have a smaller list that I want to add to the master list:

Neighborhood | Trucks (count)
1003 | 5
1005 | 2
1006 | 7

*Notice how the list isn't comprehensive of all the neighborhoods, there isn't a full selection of all of them.

Ideally, what I would like to have would be a list that looks like this:

Neighborhood | All Cars (count) | Trucks (count)
1001 | 4 | 0
1002 | 15 | 0
1003 | 12 | 5
1004 | 2 | 0
1005 | 7 | 2
1006 | 22 | 7

But, the problem that ends up happening is found below:

Neighborhood | All Cars (count) | Trucks (count)
1001 | 4 | 5
1002 | 15 | 2
1003 | 12 | 7
1004 | 2 |
1005 | 7 |
1006 | 22 |

Does anyone know how to sample the data so that it automatically will take the smaller list and assign it to the master list and place the items in their respective locations?

Any help would be incredibly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Sorry. Didn't get you.
frankshank******** type=text/javascript> vbmenu_register("postmenu_3049502", true); *********> has listed the data in his specification but wanted to know whether the whole process is on one single sheet or different sheets...

Upvote 0