Firefox Bookmarks to .xlsm [SOLVED]

slack7639

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
53
I figured out how to get my bookmarks out of Firefox and into Excel. A macro processes them, and other macros get you around the Worksheet.

It uses: 1.) Firefox, 2.) SQLite3, 3.) DOS, 4.) Excel VBA, 5.) NirCmd (optional)

All you have to do is to categorize your bookmarks, and then click the sort button.

These two PDFs provide code for the BAT files, and explain how to set up the paths for the macros. More instructions are in the VBA of the xlsm. These three files are on my Google Docs.

I thought I'd share this, because it's cool, might be useful to others . . . and maybe someone can improve on what I have, or give me some more ideas . . . maybe this post can be left open.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

bookmarks-to-CSV.pdf . . . This first page provides all you need to know, to get your Bookmarks into a .CSV file (This won't do anything to your actual Bookmarks, it just extracts a copy of them.) . . . Then, the next few pages provide the details of what's going on . . . https://drive.google.com/open?id=1xYWPQtijqCzk-1nzTsTb0ZUVKYJNFokR

Custom UI Editor.pdf . . . Supporting info, and BAT file code to be set up . . . https://drive.google.com/open?id=1G2AWBamOrbAo2ZNDtUyYdzegjKzz34DA

bookmarks-p.xlsm . . . The Preview on Google Docs isn't that great. Some supporting info is in the first four Worksheets. Bookmarks are in the fifth Worksheet (see tabs across the bottom) . . . https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ZOuOBkdJjMx1T4xMUNG7sf6MDWurUqqy
 

mole999

Moderator
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
9,899
Firefox & Excel
a less formatted way is to get Google to export them as html, then import that into excel
 

slack7639

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
53
That's probably the way to go initially, if you have a lot of bookmarks, and want to get the folders, so you don't have to spend as much time putting them back into Categories.

The Firefox database is in SQLite3. What would be the query to get the folders every time? I think you use:

. . . recurse sub folders. That would require WITH RECURSIVE . . . https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1199029

WITH clause . . . http://www.sqlite.org/lang_with.html

I don't know how to do it, though.
 

slack7639

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
53
. . . but it looks like FavoritesView v1.32 doesn't give you the "folders" your bookmarks are in, either
 

mole999

Moderator
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
9,899
you can let mozilla synch your favorites, so they will always be available, or back up the two files from your profile which are encrypted, and keep copies
 

slack7639

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
53
I like to get them out of FF, and into Excel, so I can add notes, and order them . . . Excel makes them easier to work with.

Also, the browser is supposed to work faster, if you don't have thousands of bookmarks. Maybe that's outdated information by now.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,513
Messages
5,359,226
Members
400,521
Latest member
smarty1995

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • VBA (Userform)
    Hi All, I just would like to know why my code isn't working. Here is my VBA code: [CODE=vba]Private Sub OKButton_Click() Dim i As Integer...
  • List box that changes fill color
    Hello, I have gone through so many pages trying to figure this out. I have a 2020 calendar that depending on the day needs to have a certain...
  • Remove duplicates and retain one. Cross-linked cases
    Hi all I ran out of google keywords to use and still couldn't find a reference how to achieve the results of a single count. It would be great if...
  • VBA Copy and Paste With Duplicates
    Hello All, I'm in need of some input. My VBA skills are sub-par at best. I've assembled this code from basic research and it works but is...
  • Macro
    is it possible for a macro to run if the active cell value is different to the value above it
  • IF DATE and TIME
    I currently use this to check if date has passed but i also need to set a time on it too. Is it possible? [CODE=vba]=IF(B:B>TODAY(),"Not...
Top