first Access Database

leewalker

hi everyone

im throwing myself in a the deep end as they say

i run a PC and laptop repair company and am trying to developer a database that can be used to store data of customers that book there equipment in for repair

i currently have i word document in the layout of the sheet and would like to know would this be easlier transfer to a form in access is so where is the best place to start.

i i have very little if none experience with access.

i would like to add the following features if possiable

- save each form with unique ref to be viewed later if needed (as PDF)
- open new empty form ready to book in next Item on save/print
- have customer lookup for returning customers and ability to edit customer details if incorrect for example if more or change telephone
- print copy of form
- location to be able to be on network drive and easier changed if needed
- data collected must be suitable to be used for other means such as mail merge.
- Postcode looking would be great note sure if this is possiable tho without spending hundreds of pounds on a postage lookup database

does anyone have any examples or know of any good tutorial sites that many help and teach me what i need along the way.

thanks in advance to everyone that helps me get start and hopefully makes my experience with access a good one.

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
See what the referenced template offers in the way of features. You might like them better than what you're using.
If no...there are probably ways to accommodate your format.

Upvote 0
See what the referenced template offers in the way of features. You might like them better than what you're using.
If no...there are probably ways to accommodate your format.

Many thanks I will check this out when im infront of a PC current replying on my mobile

thanks again

Upvote 0