Formula Question

ironsides

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Messages
575
This formula works well. Can I add a notation where the T will show up on the monitor in Green, and the T in Black?


=IF(OR(P4={"AT","BT","SM","BI","SI"}),"T","D")

Thank you
 

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.

texasalynn

Well-known Member
Joined
May 19, 2002
Messages
8,458
take a look at conditional format for the range with that formula to look for the criteria you set
 

ironsides

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Messages
575
take a look at conditional format for the range with that formula to look for the criteria you set

...sorry but I don't understand your answer...
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
49,439
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
...sorry but I don't understand your answer...
Assuming in your original post you meant
Can I add a notation where the T will show up on the monitor in Green, and the D (not T) in Black?
then try this.

1. Select the cell that contains the formula =IF(OR(P4={"AT","BT","SM","BI","SI"}),"T","D")
2. From the menus choose Format|Conditional Formatting...|Condition 1|Cell Value Is|equal to|="T"|Format...|Font|Colour: choose green|OK|Add>>|Condition 2|Cell Value Is|equal to|="D"|Format...|Font|Colour: choose black|OK|OK
 

ironsides

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Messages
575

ADVERTISEMENT

...sorry but I don't understand your answer...
Assuming in your original post you meant
Can I add a notation where the T will show up on the monitor in Green, and the D (not T) in Black?
then try this.

1. Select the cell that contains the formula =IF(OR(P4={"AT","BT","SM","BI","SI"}),"T","D")
2. From the menus choose Format|Conditional Formatting...|Condition 1|Cell Value Is|equal to|="T"|Format...|Font|Colour: choose green|OK|Add>>|Condition 2|Cell Value Is|equal to|="D"|Format...|Font|Colour: choose black|OK|OK

:biggrin: Thank you Peter. Worked fine exactly as you said. Matt
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
49,439
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
ironsides

Just re-visiting this thread I wondered why I put Condition 2 in the Conditional Formatting. :confused:
If you are using the standard black for your fonts in this sheet, then there is no need for Condition 2.

You could select the cell or range of cells that contain this Conditional Formatting and then Format|Conditional Formatting...|Delete...|Tick Condition 2|OK|OK. "T" will still show up green and "D" will show up black.

If your Conditional Formatting is only in a small number of cells it will not matter much either way, but if it covers a LOT of cells then the additional condition may start to slow your sheet.
 

ironsides

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Messages
575
ironsides

Just re-visiting this thread I wondered why I put Condition 2 in the Conditional Formatting. :confused:
If you are using the standard black for your fonts in this sheet, then there is no need for Condition 2.

You could select the cell or range of cells that contain this Conditional Formatting and then Format|Conditional Formatting...|Delete...|Tick Condition 2|OK|OK. "T" will still show up green and "D" will show up black.

If your Conditional Formatting is only in a small number of cells it will not matter much either way, but if it covers a LOT of cells then the additional condition may start to slow your sheet.

Actually Peter, it worked the way you specified because I mistakenly used Black in my example when it should have been Brown. So all is well. Thanks for following up. Matt
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,136,616
Messages
5,676,831
Members
419,653
Latest member
analyticalchemist94

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top