help needed in modifying a macro to run in the other open workbook

inolab

I am completely new to creating macros/editing vba in Excel 2010, so please be patient with my question. I have written a macro, edited it and it works in any workbook I open when I run the macro from the Developer toolbar. I have saved the macro in its own excel file and have created a button to assign the macro to it. However, I am needing to share this macro so other users can open the xlsm file, click the button that has the macro assigned to it and then have the macro run on the other active workbook. We have over 140 different workbooks that we may or may not want to run the macro on, so I cannot specify the name of the workbook to run the macro on. Below is the beginning part of my macro (as it is pretty long), but I know I need to write something at the beginning that tells the macro to run on the other active workbook. I am at a loss as this is probably way above my skill level since this is my first macro to ever write. Any help is greatly appreciated:)

Sub diag_macro_test2()
'
' diag_macro_test2 Macro
'

'

Sheets("Sheet2").Select
Range("D1:H1").Select
Range(Selection, Selection.End(xlDown)).Select

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Welcome to the Board!

By default, if you do not specify a workbook name, it will run against the current active workbook in Excel. I would use that to your advantage and save it in your Personal Macro Workbook. Then, it will always be available to you whenever you have Excel open, and you can run it on any active file. You can even attach a keyboard shortcut to it (since you would not have a visible button to run it).

Just bear in mind that if you want others to have access to it also, you can have them create their own Personal Macro Workbook, and save it there as well.