Hide column based on string

smitty120

I’m new to both VBA and this forum, so forgive me if I’ve committed any blunders. On a daily basis I receive a spreadsheet with the strings “Yes” and “No” in the cells of Column X. I would like to hide Column X if it contains any value other than Yes. What I’ve got below will run in my test spreadsheet, but it hides both the column it’s supposed to hide and the one it’s not. I’m not sure why it’s not recognizing the Yes string. Thanks for your help!

Code:
Sub Hide()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim Y, N As String
    Y = "Yes"
    N = "No"
For Each Cell In Range("X2:X1000")
    If Cell.Value = "" Or Cell.Value = N Then
        Cell.EntireColumn.Hidden = True
    ElseIf Cell.Value <> "" And Cell.Value = Y Then
        Cell.EntireColumn.Hidden = False
    End If
Next Cell
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
End Sub

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Smitty120-,

Welcome to MrExcel.

If you remove the Application.ScreenUpdating = False from your code you would see that as you loop down the rows 2 to 1000 the column would hide / unhide deendent upon the value in each row.

Thus your final result will be determned by the value in cell X1000.

If as you appear to say you want the column hidden if not all cells in the range x2:x1000 = Yes then try....

Code:
Sub Hide()
If Not Application.WorksheetFunction.CountIf(Range("X2:X1000"), "Yes") = Range("X2:X1000").Rows.Count Then
Range("X2:X1000").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
Else
Range("X2:X1000").EntireColumn.Hidden = False
End If
End Sub

Hope that helps.

Upvote 0
Thanks for the welcome and the response! I see now why my code isn't working. I don't think I was clear enough in my original post. I want the column to remain unhidden if any one cell equals Yes, not the cells in the range equal Yes. How would I write that code?

Upvote 0
smitty120,

Try this.....

Code:
Sub Hide()