How do I set conditions before using "split"

zany username

I'm completely new to VBA but I found some very helpful code in an older thread: http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-questions/543349-extract-text-between-two-points.html

Using "Split":

Code:
Public Sub Test1()

Dim oTarget As Range
Dim oCell As Range

Set oTarget = ActiveSheet.Range("A2:A2043")

For Each oCell In oTarget

oCell.Offset(0, 4).Value = Split(Split(oCell.Value, "Date_stamp:")(1), "Payment_made:")(0)

Next oCell

End Sub

Thanks Gary, that's accomplised what I was originally failing to do with MID() :) but what I'm hoping someone can show me now is how I can set conditions on using Split.

I have dumped data from emails into Excel 2010 in cells A2:A2043 and I'm spliting it for ease of viewing but I need the code to check if the cell contains a specific string and if skip to the next cell if it doesn't. For instance when the customer hasn't made a payment it will skip as there isn't anything to split after that point and continue spliting if they answered Yes.
Examples are:
Customer_Number: 11338849

Invoice_Period: 30/06/13

Attendance_type: Group

BookingDate_stamp: 03/07/2013

Payment_made: No
Customer_Number: 11338849

Invoice_Period: 30/06/13

Attendance_type: Group

BookingDate_stamp: 03/07/2013

Payment_made: Yes

Payment_method: Cheque

Payment_date: 14/06/2013

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

Ideally I would have extracted directly from Outlook but that's a different problem for another day at this stage, so I wan't to carry on from where I am. Also, how am I going to extract that last date :eek: Can I Split between "Payment_date:" and the end of the cell?

Best regards,
Zany

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)
What string are you looking for and what do you want to happen when it's found?

Upvote 0
If the cell contains "Payment_made: Yes" then it will

Code: