How much faster / better are COM Add-Ins?

gazpage

Hi all,

Title says it all really. I'm trying to decide if it is worth the effort to chase through my company's policies to get VB Studio and learn how to write some Excel Com Add-Ins. I need to write some code that will take some time to run (information flow reports, unique formula analyser etc) and wondering how much faster such code would run if in a COM Add in rather than a regular excel add in.

I am an intermediate+ user of VBA (e.g. I have used dictionaries, class modules, userforms etc, but not so often that I am an expert) so I don't really have any concerns about being able to pick up how to do it from guides on the web.

Thanks
Gary

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
It depends where your bottle necks are. If you are simply automating Excel they're unlikely to be any faster - most bottle necks are caused by interacting with the Excel object model.

If you're doing other things then you may get significant improvements.

Upvote 0
Can you elaborate a little on the bottlenecks?

First code will basically be running through every formula and checking if it has been copied from the cell above or to the left. It will then produce an output showing where the unique formulae are.
Second code will run through every formula and look for links to other worksheets and then summaries in a grid showing precedents and dependents.

Not really what I think about as automation, ie not automating something I could manually do in excel.

Thanks for replying
Gary

Upvote 0
Could you post your code? Reading and writing cells in a loop is about the slowest thing you can do so you're unlikely to get much performance benefit from a com add in

Upvote 0