I give up! Nested IF, THEN operations plus COUNT to return a single sum??

lcb803

I am a relative Excel novice, but have thoroughly explored MS Excel Help and other online help forums for an answer to my question, and at this point, I am wondering if what I want to do is even possible? Please help!

I want the formula to return a single sum for multiple conditions (two, to be exact) in a range to a single cell.

The context of my question is a calendar where IF a day (i.e., a cell) has the value "I" in it, THEN I want the formula to COUNT that value as 0.5 (i.e., half of a day).

IF a day (i.e. a cell) has the value "II" in it, THEN I want the formula to COUNT that value as 1 (i.e., a whole day). THEN I want the formula to calculate the sum of the values within the range specified (i.e., the month).

The answer should be 11.5.

SUNMONTUEWEDTHUFRISAT

II
IIIIIII

IIIIIIIIIII

III

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
You could also use the array formula

Code:
=SUM(IF($A$1:$G$11="I",0.5,IF($A$1:$G$11="II",1,0)))

It must be entered with ctrl+shift+enter

Upvote 0
I am a relative Excel novice, but have thoroughly explored MS Excel Help and other online help forums for an answer to my question, and at this point, I am wondering if what I want to do is even possible? Please help!

I want the formula to return a single sum for multiple conditions (two, to be exact) in a range to a single cell.

The context of my question is a calendar where IF a day (i.e., a cell) has the value "I" in it, THEN I want the formula to COUNT that value as 0.5 (i.e., half of a day).

IF a day (i.e. a cell) has the value "II" in it, THEN I want the formula to COUNT that value as 1 (i.e., a whole day). THEN I want the formula to calculate the sum of the values within the range specified (i.e., the month).

The answer should be 11.5.

SUN
MON
TUE
WED
THU
FRI
SAT

II