Item Selection within a Macro

cstewart

I am a teacher and I set up a tool to take exported student test responses and turn them into a table with "offset".

I have set up macros for everything but selecting the number of questions to copy. "Shift + arrow" takes me to the end of the record (of 50) but most test have less than that.

I have tried using "relative reference" and a cell value in the macro steps, but i haven't been successful.

I have spent a lot of time looking for an answer, but I don't even know the right words to use. Could somebody tell me where to look? Thanks.

Excel Facts

How can you automate Excel?
Press Alt+F11 from Windows Excel to open the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.
There's a variety of methods within macros to find the last used cell in a column, a range, the whole worksheet, or whatever.

Could you perhaps be a bit more specific about just what you're looking for?

Upvote 0
I will try, I made a table to take data (student test item responses) from a few columns and turn it into a table.

The table has 50+ columns. But I need to take different numbers of columns based on the number of questions in the test.

I have tried Shift+right, but I number of items changes and Shift+right always takes me to the end of the table.

Even if you could just get me in the right direction by telling me some of the terms I could look for on-line, thanks.

Upvote 0
I usually assign this to a variable in vba:

Code:
Application.Counta(Range("A:A"))
It counts the number of non-blank cells in column A. If you have a header row, just subtract 1 from the variable.

Oops, just saw your last post and realized this won't help you.

Upvote 0
This is the formula that I entered to make the table from the columns.

"=OFFSET($E$2,(MAX($D$2:$D$50)*(ROW()-ROW(W$3)))+(COLUMN()-COLUMN($K4)),0,1,1)"

It always produces a "0" or a "1", so even if a column is unused, it will have a number in it.

Upvote 0