Just a simple questions: can a worksheet be posted to a sharepoint site with a macro?

GS7CLW

Banned
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
168
We are going to be converting to sharepoint for report distribution.
My worksheets are set up for email distribution (one-click) -- will I
be able to do the same with Sharepoint?

Hope everyone has a great weekend!
(May be a LONGGGGGGGGGG weekend for some of us!~!!)

cliff
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).

mtskv5

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
88
Cliff,

My experiance with SharePoint via marco is limited, but I've never been able to get much working between the two. Most of it reverts to a VB Script to interact.
 

GS7CLW

Banned
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
168
OK, I have mapped my sharepoint site to my computer (Z: drive),
my documents are stored in the Shared Documents folder; (1) filename
is floorreport.xlsm

So I would like to svae this file to
Z:\Shared Documents\FloorReport.xlsm
and then check it in.

I have tried activeworkbook.saveas "
Z:\Shared Documents\FloorReport.xlsm"
but I get a write failure message
and I have not even gotten around to trying to check it in using VBA.

Right now I using a batch file to write to the Z:| drive
then simple click the appropriate links on the sharepoint page to check it in.

I have also tried a couple of times with Kill to delete the old file first
then Filecopy to write the new file
but I still get the write failure error msg.
 

DanFerg

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
4

ADVERTISEMENT

I originally mapped a drive letter to our SP site, but the VBA didn't care for it.

to get my path originally, i recorded a macro as i re-saved a spreadsheet to the site.
 

GS7CLW

Banned
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
168
yes, i also tried that angle and got a debug msg
everytime I tried to save it to the sp folder.

so far, the batch file works great ( I run IT using VBA)
(I also send an email using the same macro to notify
all concerned that it has been updated -- the vba email
includes a direct link to the report)

I just have to click the report and check it in right now.
which is not but 2 extra clicks.

have you ever tried to use VBA to check a report in on sp?
 

DanFerg

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
4
Check in or out? No. Not even an attempt. We don't bother with that, but rather use SP basically as a file server.

That may be an angle you toss around???
-Dan
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,368
Messages
5,595,755
Members
414,017
Latest member
surajks

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top