Looking for Help to create an Excel or Access Database

Southern23

I have never created a database and I'm not sure if Excel is the correct format or maybe Access. I want to create a Physical Fitness Test database to allow students to check their progress or to see how they need to do in order to attain a certain percentage. The image shows a basic outline. The Gray blocks will have dropdowns. I have a feeling that Access would be the better option, but like I mentioned previously I have no experience building a database. I do know that Access builds off of Excel inputs. The variables are below.

1. Male or Female
2. Age - 13 through 17+
3. Exercises - Sit-ups, Push-ups and 1 mile run (these three need to be visible together
4. The number of repetitions or mile time which is attached to a percentage

Attachments

• PFT Database Question.png
    PFT Database Question.png
    6.3 KB · Views: 7

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
IMO Access is far better at being a database than Excel ever could be. If you have a requirement to share with concurrent users, it's really a no-brainer. However, it has a steep learning curve if you want a really good outcome. If you try to bypass that curve, you may end up with something that works to an extent but no way to know what difficulties you could end up with as a result. The most important thing is db normalization, which you definitely should understand and then put in to practice. Many Excel users migrate to Access and right off the bat they create db tables like they would spreadsheets. Big mistake.

If you will be the only user, a workbook might suffice. I'd say it all depends on what you want the tool to do. You haven't said much about that.
N.B. the only potentials I see for combos (drop downs) are Exercises and Gender, which seems to conflict a bit with your statement.