Looking up text string and creating your own expression

losamfr17

Board Regular
Dear forum members,

I'm a beginner user, and I was wondering if you could please help me solve this problem...?

I'm looking for a way/function to look up a specific word in a text column, and I want to be able to call that cell something else. For example, I'm trying to look up the word "*major*" in column 31 (AE) and row 50, and if that word appears in that row and column, I want the cell to appear as "Major Member." Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

Best regards,
Losamfr17

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.
Try this (adjust as necessary):

Code:
Sub UpdateFoundCells():
'Updates cells found with a criteria with an new value (assumes column AE/ 21st and checks first 1,000 rows).

Dim rngCurrentCell As Range

For Each rngCurrentCell In ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Range(Cells(1, 31), Cells(1000, 31))
        If LCase(rngCurrentCell) = "major" Then
            rngCurrentCell = "Major Member"
        End If
    Next

End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Professor Porcupine,

Thank you so much for sending me your code. I was just able to run it today. It gave me an error message (as you pointed out it needs adjustment). Since I have no background in VBA, I'm looking into a solution using online resources. I appreciate your time.

Upvote 0
Have you tried using Find and Replace? Replace *major* with Major Member

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Well my problem is a bit more complex. I'm trying to automate a task. Column G needs to be filled. Each row to be filled depends on a keyword, "major," written on column AE (31). For each row where "major" appears within the text string in AE, I want "Major Member" to appear in column G.

I hope this is clearer than my first post. Thank you for your consideration.