looping year auto script

austin350s10

I have a macro I would like my workbook to perform automatically at the beginning of each year. I know how to write something simple like do this if the date is greater than X but that only works for one year.

How can I make it so that when its done running the macro it changes the code to look for the next year so it will only run the code again when the following year comes along?

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
had you thought about evaluating only based on the day and month and ignore the year?

the VBA would then be something like ....where day = "01" And month = "01" Then...
which would run every 1st January

Upvote 0
wow....that is pretty darn simple. Just for clarification what the actual script look like?.....im kinda new at this

Thanks BTW

Upvote 0
austin - there will be a more elegant way to do this, but the following works:

Sub test()

Dim day As Integer, month As Integer

day = Application.WorksheetFunction.Text(Date, "dd")
month = Application.WorksheetFunction.Text(Date, "mm")

If day = "01" And month = "01" Then
MsgBox ("The macro has worked")
End If

End Sub

I tested changing the above to day = "01" to "31" and month = "08" and only then will the msgbox work. So just substitute your code that needs to run instead of the msgbox line.

HTH, Ian R.

Upvote 0
One potential problem with the above script. It would only run on 01/01. If the user happens to open the workbook on 01/02 the script will not work. I slept on this one and think I may have come up with something that will work a little better, but cant quite script it. Let me know what you think. My code is probably messed up as all get out, but maybe you could help me clean it up.

Code:
[B]Sub test()

Dim CurrentYear As Integer
Dim NextYear As Integer

CurrentYear = Application.WorksheetFunction.Text(Date, "yyyy")