Macro button to re-name tab to a specific cell value and then print / save worksheet as pdf with the same name as the tab

roddeo

Hello - I'm not very experienced when it comes to Macro's. I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I have a workbook with around 20 worksheets in it. I'd like to place 3 separate macro buttons on each worksheet as follows...

1. That re-names the tab to the value of a particular cell in the worksheet
2. That saves the worksheet as a pdf of the same name as the tab to a specific network folder

Thanks!

Roddeo

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
Hello - I'm not very experienced when it comes to Macro's. I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I have a workbook with around 20 worksheets in it. I'd like to place 3 separate macro buttons on each worksheet as follows...

1. That re-names the tab to the value of a particular cell in the worksheet
2. That saves the worksheet as a pdf of the same name as the tab to a specific network folder

Thanks!

Roddeo
Hi Roddeo, welcome to the boards.

Firstly, you say you want 3 buttons but only list 2 actions.

Secondly, unless you have a specific reason not to, you can have all of this happen in the one macro.

Try out the following in a COPY of your workbook. This code is added to a standard module and applied to a button to be run.

Rich (BB code):
Sub Save()
' Defines variable
Dim sFile As String
' Renames the tab to the value of cell A1
ActiveSheet.Name = ActiveSheet.Range("A1").Value
' Defines sFile as desired filename based on the value of cell A1
sFile = ActiveSheet.Range("A1").Value & ".pdf"
' Saves a copy of the active workbook as sFile name to pre-designated filepath - update this as required but leave the backslash on the end
    ActiveSheet.ExportAsFixedFormat Type:=xlTypePDF, Filename:= _