ratanner

I am new to Macros and am having a bit of a hard time with two issues. I am using Excel 2010 and am working on a spreadsheet.

The first problem I am having is trying to write a Macro in VBA that will hide a particular row of cells given a criteria. Cell U3 is my reference and contains a formula to give me either a 1 or a 2 based upon another cells information. In other words, if cell B2=white, yellow, or blue, cell U3 will give me a 1. If B2 = anything else cell U3 will give me a 2.

If U3=1 I am wanting to hide rows 4-7 but if U3=2 I want rows 4-7 to be unhiden.

The second problem I am having is on a separate worksheet. On the second worksheet, I am wanting to take and merge two cells once the total of one cell = 0
Example is I have cells I4 and I5. I4 is the total number of miles driven in a day and I5 is a countdown of remaining miles allowed. What I am wanting to do is once I5 = 0 I want I4 and I5 to merge and only show the contents of I4.

Is what I am asking for possible or is it to complex? I have always come to Mr. Excel forums for assistance and everyone in here is wonderful for being able to offer up help when I need it. Thank you in advance for your help.

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
Here's a couple of short macros to guide you in the right direction:
Code:
Sub HideRows()

Dim Boo As Boolean
Dim X As Integer    'This macro uses this to change the visibility trigger value between 1 and 2

Select Case Range("U3").Value
    Case Is = 1
       Boo = True
       X = 2
    Case Else
        Boo = False
        X = 1
End Select

Range("A4:A7").EntireRow.Hidden = Boo

Range("U3").Value = X   'Changes the U3 value

End Sub

Sub MergeCells()

Dim c As Range

'Doesn't show alerts
Application.DisplayAlerts = False

'Checks the cells from given range
For Each c In Range("A5:I5")
    With c
'Makes sure the cell is not already merged: