Macro not working after I renamed spreadsheet

Dosaparks

Hi,

I am a beginner when it comes to macros and don't know much about the code (I just use the record function to create them).

I have a worksheet with a lot of them and they all work fine, however I need to rename the spreadsheet and when I do this I start getting a Run-time error '9'.

I realise the problem is that all the macros I have recorded (which often jump from sheet to sheet) show the specific spreadsheet name in the code and this doesn't change when I rename the spreadsheet. Therefore the code continues to look up the old spreadsheet name which doesn't exist and I get the error.

What is the easiest option to solve this problem? Is there a way of 'hard wiring' the codes to the spreadsheet itself and not just the spreadsheet name which can change?

I just signed up to MrExcel today so hopefully my debut post gets a result!

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
If you are in the macro editor, you may see a tree view in the upper left with each of your sheets listed e.g.;
  • Microsoft Excel Objects
    • Sheet1(Sheet1)
    • Sheet2(MySheet)
    • Sheet3(Sheet3)
    • ThisWorkbook

The Name in parenthesis e.g. (MySheet) is the name you give the sheet. The name to the Left of parenthesis e.g. Sheet2 is the name Excel gives the Sheet when the sheet is first created. That name is called the sheet code name and it will not change. You can use the code name in your macro.

If your macro has something like this
Sheets("MySheet").Select

Change it to this...
Sheet2.Select

Then if you Change the name of MySheet, the macro will still work.

You can also select a sheet by position.
Sheets(2).Select

This will select the 2nd sheet in the sheet Order. If you move the sheets around. It will still select whichever sheet is 2nd in order.

Last edited:
Upvote 0