Measure won't slice properly

japie06

Hi there!

I am a graduate intern at a big company and I'm having some trouble with creating a measure in PowerPivot.
I'm quite new with PowerPivot and I need some help. I am the first person to use PowerPivot in this office so I can't ask for help here.

I have a fact table that has basically all journal entries. See next table. All entries are done with a unique ID (serialnumber) for every product

IDDATEACCOUNT#AMOUNT
1102010-1-1900$1000

<tbody>
</tbody>

There is a dimension table with has all accounts allocated to a specific country and expense or revenue.
ACCOUNT#ExpenseCountry
900RevenueGermany

<tbody>
</tbody>

And another dimension table to split the dates.
The third dimension table contains product information, but also contains a column with a certain expense (Expense X).

IDExpense XProductNameProductcolour
110$50FlowerGreen

<tbody>
</tbody>

I made sure I made the correct relations between the tables of course. And slicing works in general.

To calculate the margin I need to deduct this expense x from the revenue. I already made a measure that shows total Revenue, that one was easy.

Now I need a measure to show the total for Expense X, related to productID. So I can slice in a pivot table on date and product name etc.

The problem is that I can't use RELATED function because the serial number is used multiple times in the fact table (journal entries can have the same serial number)
And if I use the SUM or CALCULATE function it won't slice properly.

So how can I calculate the total for expense X so it will slice properly?

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
Hi
Could you upload a little example into anywhere (maybe dropbox or other)?
Regards,

Upvote 0
Hi thanks for replying.

I uploaded a dummy database here