Measures to rows / columns?

Misca

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm a PowerPivot newbie and once again I'm stuck in the very basics of using the PowerBI.

Here's my table setup:

Table fSales has fields like StoreID, ProductID, Payment Method and Sales Amount. It's joined to TbStores with the StoreID, tbProducts with the ProductID and tbPAymentMethods with the PaymentMethod field.
TbStores has fields like StoreID and CompanyID. It's joined to the tbCompanies with the CompanyID field.
The rest of the tables have just general data about the companies, products and payment methods.

Each company has 1 or more stores and each store uses 1 or more different payment methods for each product they're selling.

I used the DISTINCTCOUNT to get a measure of different payment methods in the fSales table and the measure works fine to show how many different methods of payment individual companies are using.

Now what I'd like to do next is create a histogram showing how many companies are using how many different payment methods, ie. I'd like to get the distinct count numbers to my rows or columns area of my PT but I can't use measure in those fields. How could I turn those calculations into row fields? I believe this might help solving my other problems as well.

Another problem I just can't solve is how to get the count of companies per product and per payment method. I mean the distinct count tells me the number of stores or companies but I'd need the table to count the same company once in each field it appears. I just can't figure out a way to get from the StoreID level to the Company level.

Ultimately I'd like to be able to filter the data and see how many companies using payment method A are also using payment methods B and C but I'm not even sure if that's possible with Power Pivot.

Thanks for your help!

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes