Need help with simple macro that I'm sure others would find useful!

rexofspades

Hi! I'm using Excel 2010 and I have a fairly straightforward issue that I'm trying to solve. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I'm a good programmer but I'm new to VBA, so I don't know enough syntax and it's taking me forever to do what I think should be pretty simple... :)

I have a To Do List I'm trying to build and I would like items that are "Done" to be first copied to a separate "Done" worksheet and then deleted from the To Do List.

From the "To Do List" worksheet, when a button is activated, it should search column B for a "P" (Wingdings 2 checkmark) and then copy the entire row, switch to the "Dones" worksheet, find the next empty row and copy the data in, thereby appending the list. Then it should delete the entire row completely. For bonus points: I really want TODAY() entered into column I on the "Dones" sheet for the new entries.

I would be so grateful for help!

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Do you want help learning to write a macro or do you want someone to do it for you? It is fairly easy - you let Excel "watch" (record) what you do, step by step as you do it - then you tell the recorder to stop recording. Then you let it play back and see if you got it right or not. Once the recorder gets it right, you save it.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Do you want help learning to write a macro or do you want someone to do it for you?

Well to be honest I'd like someone to do it for me. :eek:

I'm eager to learn but have to consider workplace time constraints. You can understand the irony of spending too much time creating a to do list to help better manage my time.

Upvote 0
Hi candybg,