One Last Combo box Question

btrede

Board Regular
I appreciate all who have helped me, but here is an interesting question.

In my data base, I have created multiple forms that have data for queries, and then execute / launch a report.

I would like to know if rather than having 20 buttons on a switchboard, is there a way to create a combo box or list box, where lets say you select Form1, and then it opens the form. hence, a way to create a combo or list box to open the form from a list of forms.

I was thinking perhaps a field list or a hyperlink to the form, but not sure.

Any suggestions from anyone.

hopefully i won't have any more access projects for awhile. Just a novice here.

:cool:

Bradley

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Hi Bradley

There may be a better way of doing this, but the following method works for me.

Create a new table, call it 'tblMyForms' and include a single field in that table called 'MyFormName'. View the table in data mode and manually add the names of your forms (use copy > paste). Create a combo box on your form that points to this new table and attach the following code to the 'After Update' event of the combo box :

Code:
Private Sub MyComboBox_AfterUpdate()

On Error GoTo Err_Handler:

Dim strFormSelected As String

strFormSelected = Nz(Me.MyComboBox, "")

If strFormSelected = "" Then
    Exit Sub
Else
    DoCmd.OpenForm strFormSelected
End If

Exit_Here:
    Exit Sub

Err_Handler:
    MsgBox Err.Description, vbCritical, "Error : " & Err.Number
    Resume Exit_Here

End Sub

Use your actual combo box name where I have used 'MyComboBox'.

HTH, Andrew

Upvote 0
Hi Bradley, another suggestion. I use it to launch forms or reports.

1. A table with 2 fields: FormName and DisplayName. Populate it with the names of all forms that you wish to open. DisplayName can be a more user-friendly description that shows in the listbox.